Board of Directors

Ruth Chun – Chair

Ruth  is a proven executive with global experience in corporate law. Previously a partner of Africa’s largest law firm, Ruth has also worked with major legal firms in Canada, and the United Kingdom. She has held executive and board positions in the financial services sector. She is admitted to legal practice in Ontario, New York, and Namibia, and is in-house counsel at Newstrike / Up Cannabis, a licensed producer of cannabis partnered with The Tragically Hip.  Ruth lives on a chicken and garlic farm and has two boys.

Suzanne Stoltz – Vice Chair

Suzanne graduated cum laude from Harvard Law School in 2002, where she served as co-Editor-in-Chief for the Harvard Women’s Law Journal. She was called to the bar in New York in 2004 and in Ontario in January 2018.

Suzanne is the Senior Family Law Associate with Barry Gage Family Law and through her experience in family law and her background as a human rights advocate, Suzanne has developed a deep understanding of the emotional impact divorce takes on all involved. Suzanne takes special care to develop a unique strategy to make sure that every client’s immediate and long-term needs are met. Her unique background and experience allows Suzanne to find dynamic solutions for even the most complicated of cases.

Suzanne is also active in the Oakville community and served on the steering committee with the Women of Halton Action Movement and has served on the board of Community Development Halton.

Nikki DhaliwalTreasurer

Nikki lives in Oakville with her family, including her husband and two children.  Nikki is a Chartered Professional Accountant and works for BMO full-time.  Outside of work and SAVIS, Nikki keeps busy managing  the homefront and a crazy hockey schedule for her kids and keeping active.

Johanna Zemmelink – Member

Johanna is the President, Founder and Principal Consultant of a compensation/HR consulting firm that bears her name (Johanna Zemmelink + Associates Inc., at and has been operating since 2014.  She and her team of experienced associates provide clients across all sectors with design, deliverables and services in all areas of broad-based (non-executive) compensation, with a longstanding focus on pay equity and pay parity.  An Honours graduate of the University of Waterloo in economics and human resources, she is an active member of the Total Rewards community, presenting at conferences, and moderating expert panels.  Outside of her professional and family activities, Johanna is heavily involved in (amateur) choral singing and has performed as a member of a mass a cappella chorus on stage at both the Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall  in New York City.  She lives in Oakville with her son and daughter who are in their late teens.  She is finding her Board experience with SAVIS eye opening – and rewarding –  given the organization’s mission in meeting the needs of survivors.   In working with the other accomplished members of the Board and SAVIS’ staff, she hopes her expertise will contribute further to SAVIS’ effectiveness and sustainability.

Gillian Wassmansdorf – Member

Gillian is a staunch advocate for equity in public education and socially-responsible public policy. She graduated from York University’s Glendon Campus in 2015 and from Brock University’s Master of Education program in 2020. She is a classroom teacher in the Halton District School Board and is currently pursuing a Master of Public Policy, Administration, and Law at York University. In her free time, Gillian is a film photographer and an adoring cat mum. Working with SAVIS bridges Gillian’s passions for policy and education, and she appreciates the opportunity to continue on a journey as a co-conspirator in pursuit of justice with survivors of violence.

We are looking for new Board Members please click on our volunteer page.
board 2

Volunteer – Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is looking for candidates who demonstrate an interest in ending gender-based violence and human trafficking or have lived experiences surviving gender-based violence.  Previous experience serving on a non-profit, community-based board and/or committee would be an asset. SAVIS of Halton’s Board of Directors works in partnership with its Executive Director to ensure…